Skip to content
Agent Radar
Comparison

Opik vs Langfuse: open-source LLM observability compared

Updated By Agent Radar5 min read

Short answer

Opik vs Langfuse compared from repo metadata and product sites: licenses, surfaces, deployment and pricing as stated, checked 2026-10-14.

Top pick: Opik. Opik is an open-source platform for understanding, measuring and improving LLM applications, including chatbots, RAG pipelines and multi-step agents. Its site also lists prompt optimization algorithms and an MCP server for coding agents.

Opik and Langfuse are both open-source LLM observability platforms covering tracing, evaluation and prompt management, per their own sites as checked 2026-10-14. The documented distinction: Opik's site stresses prompt optimization algorithms and test suites built from traces, while Langfuse's stresses a ClickHouse-backed tracing platform, OpenTelemetry support and a stated free tier.

Quick comparison

ToolBest fit (from sources)LicensePricing as statedPrimary source
OpikTeams that want tracing, test suites from traces, online evaluation and prompt optimization in one platformApache-2.0 (GitHub API)Not statedOpik docs, GitHub
LangfuseTeams that want tracing, prompt management, evals and experiments with OTel-native ingestionGitHub API reports no recognized license; site says MITFree tier: 50k observations/month; other tiers not statedLangfuse site, GitHub

The row order is editorial, not a ranking of quality. It follows the order of the query.

How the options differ

Product focus

Opik describes itself as a platform to understand what an LLM application is doing, measure how well it works, and improve it. Its site lists tracing of every LLM call, tool invocation and agent step, plus evaluation metrics such as hallucination and context recall.

Opik also lists optimization: its site says it offers six optimization algorithms that generate and test prompts for steps in an agent. Langfuse's site does not mention an equivalent prompt optimization feature in the excerpts we read.

Langfuse frames its product as a loop connecting tracing, monitoring, datasets, experiments and evaluation. Its site lists hierarchical traces, LLM-as-a-judge and human review, prompt deployments and rollbacks, side-by-side model comparison, and dashboards with automated alerts.

Agent and IDE surfaces

Both sites describe coding-agent access. Opik says its MCP server works with Claude Code, Cursor, VS Code Copilot, Codex and opencode, letting users read traces, score outputs, save prompts and run experiments from chat.

Langfuse lists an in-app Assistant, a SKILL.md skill, a CLI and an MCP server. It says the CLI offers full API access for scripts and CI/CD, and that MCP gives IDE agents structured access to prompts and traces.

Deployment and architecture

Opik's site says it can be deployed on your own infrastructure with Docker locally or Kubernetes at scale. It also says cloud, open-source and enterprise versions include the full feature set and run on the Comet platform.

Langfuse's site lists a ClickHouse OLAP database, async ingestion via a Redis queue, and S3/blob storage for large payloads. It states "Self-host for free" under its open-source section. Opik's sources describe self-hosting but do not state its cost.

Integrations

Opik's site says it works with OpenAI, Anthropic, LangChain and 50+ other providers and frameworks. Langfuse's site says it works with any language and framework supporting OTel instrumentation, and lists 100+ integrations. These are vendor claims; we did not verify any integration.

License

The Opik repository reports Apache-2.0 through the GitHub API. For Langfuse, the GitHub API does not report a recognized license for the repository, while the Langfuse site says all product features are MIT licensed. We could not reconcile this from the cited sources, so check the repository's license files before relying on either statement.

How we compared

We read four primary sources: the comet-ml/opik and langfuse/langfuse GitHub repository metadata, the Opik docs page and the Langfuse homepage. Everything was checked on 2026-10-14.

We did not install or run either tool, benchmark performance, or verify any vendor claim such as adoption figures or integration counts. Vendor numbers on the Langfuse site (users, installs, events processed) are the vendor's own statements and are not used to rank the tools.

Limitations

The sources do not state Opik's pricing, hosted-tier limits or enterprise terms. They do not state Langfuse's paid-tier prices either; only a free tier is given.

The sources do not provide a head-to-head feature comparison, latency or cost measurements, or migration guidance between the two. Neither source says how the tools handle data residency for hosted plans beyond what is quoted above. Release-level changes are covered in separate launch notes: Opik 2.2.97 and Langfuse v4.57.0.

For more tools in this space, see the Opik hub, the Langfuse hub and the Agent infra category, or read the related Langfuse v4.57.0 launch note.

The tools

In rank order
  1. Rank 1

    Opik

    Apache-2.0Open source

    Opik is an open-source platform for understanding, measuring and improving LLM applications, including chatbots, RAG pipelines and multi-step agents. Its site also lists prompt optimization algorithms and an MCP server for coding agents.

    Pros

    • Records every LLM call, tool invocation and agent step
    • Lists six prompt optimization algorithms
    • Repository license reported as Apache-2.0

    Cons

    • Pricing not stated in the cited sources
    • Self-hosting cost not stated in the cited sources
  2. Rank 2

    Langfuse

    MITOpen source

    Langfuse is an open-source platform for tracing, evaluating and improving AI agents, combining tracing, prompts, datasets, experiments and evaluation. Its site states a free tier of 50k observations/month.

    Pros

    • OTel-native with 100+ integrations per its site
    • Offers an Assistant, SKILL.md, CLI and MCP for coding agents
    • Free tier of 50k observations/month stated

    Cons

    • GitHub API does not report a recognized license for the repository
    • Paid-tier pricing not stated in the cited sources

    Pricing Free tier: 50k observations/month, no credit card required; other tiers not stated

Questions

Is Opik or Langfuse open source?

Both describe themselves as open source. The Opik repository reports Apache-2.0 via the GitHub API, while Langfuse's site says all product features are MIT licensed even though the GitHub API reports no recognized license.

Can you self-host Opik and Langfuse?

Yes, per their sites. Opik says you can deploy with Docker locally or Kubernetes at scale, and Langfuse says you can self-host for free.

Does Langfuse have a free tier compared with Opik?

Langfuse's site states a free tier of 50k observations/month with no credit card required. Opik's pricing is not stated in the cited sources.

Do Opik and Langfuse work with coding agents?

Both sites describe MCP access. Opik names Claude Code, Cursor, VS Code Copilot, Codex and opencode, while Langfuse lists an Assistant, SKILL.md, CLI and MCP.

Which one supports prompt optimization?

Opik's site lists six optimization algorithms for generating and testing prompts. Langfuse's site, in the excerpts read, lists prompt management and experiments but not an equivalent optimizer.

More guides

View all
Comparison

Agno vs CrewAI: agent frameworks compared

Agno vs CrewAI compared from repo metadata and product sites: Agno's agent service and AgentOS layer versus CrewAI's enterprise build and runtime platform.

Top pick
Agno
Read time
5 min
Updated
Comparison

Agno vs LangChain: agent frameworks compared

Agno vs LangChain compared from repo metadata and docs: Agno targets running agents as a service, LangChain a model-agnostic agent API.

Top pick
Agno
Read time
3 min
Updated
Comparison

Agno vs LangGraph: agent frameworks compared

Agno vs LangGraph compared from repo metadata and docs: service layer for agents versus a durable orchestration runtime, checked 2026-10-14.

Top pick
Agno
Read time
5 min
Updated