adk-python 2.12.0 adds tool output callbacks and approvals
Updated adk-python
Summary
Google's adk-python v2.12.0, released October 13, 2026, adds after_tool_callback, require_confirmation, custom Agent Engine service accounts and Python 3.15.
- Tool
- adk-python
- Category
- Frameworks
- Date
- Open source
- Yes
- License
- Apache-2.0
- Pricing
- Not stated in the sources we cited.
Google published adk-python v2.12.0 on October 13, 2026. According to the release notes, the update speeds up long sessions and adds finer control over tool execution, workflow approvals and deployment security.
Release facts
| Fact | Detail |
|---|---|
| Product | adk-python (Agent Development Kit for Python) |
| Version | v2.12.0 |
| Release date | October 13, 2026 |
| License | Apache-2.0, as reported by the GitHub API |
| Where to get it | GitHub release v2.12.0 |
What changed
- Performance: the release notes say time to first model request is cut by 40% in long sessions.
- Tool output filtering:
after_tool_callbacklets you intercept and filter tool outputs before they return to the model. - Workflow approvals:
require_confirmationrequires human confirmation before workflow nodes execute, and is supported in@nodeand FunctionNode. - Deployment: agents can be deployed to Agent Engine using dedicated custom service accounts.
- Python 3.15: the notes say ADK can be installed and run on Python 3.15.
- Other additions: the feature list includes an
--state_fileoption foradk run, encrypted Google credentials in sessions, and skill-script outputs persisted as artifacts.
Questions
Can tool output be screened before the model sees it?
Yes. The release notes describe after_tool_callback for intercepting and filtering tool outputs before they go back to the model.
Can a workflow pause for human approval?
According to the release notes, require_confirmation requires human confirmation before executing workflow nodes.
Is adk-python open source? The repository description calls it an open-source, code-first Python toolkit, and the GitHub API reports the Apache-2.0 license.
See the adk-python hub for more, browse other agent frameworks, compare with Mastra or OpenAI Agents, or revisit this adk-python v2.12.0 launch entry.
Alternatives
| Tool | License | Pricing note |
|---|---|---|
adk-pythonThis launchAn open-source, code-first Python toolkit for building, evaluating and deploying AI agents. | Apache-2.0 | Not stated |
OpenAI AgentsOpenAI's agent harness, shipped as a Python SDK update in April 2026 and as the hosted Agents API in September 2026. | Open source | SDK and Agents API use standard token and tool pricing. The Agents API has no additional fee. |
MastraTypeScript agent framework. Mastra Code is the terminal agent; AgentController is the extracted loop, in @mastra/core 1.47.0 or later. | Open source | Mastra Code and AgentController are announced as open source. No license fee is stated in the posts we cited. |
AgnoAgno is an orchestration and service layer for agents, exposing them through a REST API and an MCP server. | Apache-2.0 | Not stated |
OpenHandsMIT-licensed project to build and run AI coding agents: start locally, automate workflows, use any model. | MIT | The OpenHands repository is MIT-licensed. Hosted plans are not priced on this page. |
Questions
What is adk-python?
The repository describes it as an open-source, code-first Python toolkit for building, evaluating, and deploying sophisticated AI agents.
Is adk-python open source?
Yes. The GitHub API reports the Apache-2.0 license for the repository.
What languages does ADK support?
The ADK site says it is available in Python, TypeScript, Go, Java, and Kotlin.
Filed on Agent Radar. Claims in this note are limited to the sources above.