Skip to content
Agent Radar

Cloudflare Sandbox SDK 1.0.0 is a ground-up rewrite

Updated Cloudflare Sandbox SDK

Summary

Cloudflare released @cloudflare/sandbox 1.0.0 on October 8, 2026, a ground-up rewrite of its Sandbox SDK that requires migrating from 0.x.

Category
Agent infra
Date
Pricing
Not stated in the sources we cited.

Cloudflare published @cloudflare/sandbox 1.0.0, the first 1.x release of its Cloudflare Sandbox SDK, on October 8, 2026. According to the release notes, it is a ground-up rewrite, and moving from 0.12 is a migration rather than a version bump.

Release facts

FactDetail
ProductSandbox SDK (@cloudflare/sandbox)
Version1.0.0
Release dateOctober 8, 2026
PublisherCloudflare (cloudflare/sandbox-sdk on GitHub)
LicenseNot stated in the cited sources; the GitHub API reports no recognized license for the repository
Where to get itGitHub release and repository

What changed

  • Native container API. The release notes say your Durable Object extends DurableObject and runs its container through the native ctx.container API.
  • New helpers. The package adds Files, S3Mount and DirectoryBackup for work the platform does not do itself.
  • Image shim. Application images copy the sandbox-shim helper from docker.io/cloudflare/sandbox:1.0.0.
  • Migration required. Moving from 0.12 means following the "Migrate from 0.x" guide; the Sandbox docs and API reference cover 1.x.

For context, the product site describes the SDK as a way to execute commands, manage files, run services and expose them via public URLs inside secure, sandboxed containers.

Questions

Is 1.0.0 a drop-in upgrade from 0.12?

No. The release notes state that moving from 0.12 is a migration, not a version bump, and point to the Migrate from 0.x guide.

Does the SDK still mount S3-compatible storage?

The release notes list S3Mount among the package's additions. The product site says S3-compatible buckets (R2, S3, GCS) can be mounted as local filesystem paths.

What license does it ship under?

Not stated in the cited sources. The repository page notes that the GitHub API does not report a recognized license.

Related reading: the Cloudflare Sandbox SDK hub, the agent infra category, and the E2B 2.56.0 launch for another sandbox runtime release.

Alternatives

Cloudflare Sandbox SDK compared with its alternatives
ToolLicensePricing note
Cloudflare Sandbox SDKThis launchCloudflare's SDK for running untrusted or generated code in isolated sandboxes via a Worker.
—Not stated
E2BE2B is an open-source sandbox environment for running AI agents in secure, on-demand Linux VMs.
Apache-2.0Not stated
DaytonaDaytona is infrastructure for running AI-generated code in isolated sandboxes via SDKs, API and CLI.
—Not stated
ModalModal runs code in the cloud and offers Sandboxes, secure containers for untrusted user or agent code.
—Not stated

Questions

What is Cloudflare Sandbox SDK?

Its docs describe a sandbox as "an isolated place to run code." The GitHub repository description is "Run sandboxed code environments on Cloudflare's edge network". Sandboxes are accessed through a Worker.

Is Cloudflare Sandbox SDK open source?

Not stated in the cited sources. The GitHub API does not report a recognized license for the cloudflare/sandbox-sdk repository.

How is Cloudflare Sandbox SDK used?

According to its docs, your Worker starts a sandbox and sends it work. Uses listed include agent-written code, user-uploaded applications, data analysis, development previews and build pipelines. Teams on @cloudflare/sandbox 0.x can follow the migration guide to 1.0.

Filed on Agent Radar. Claims in this note are limited to the sources above.