Crush v0.98.0 adds Grok OAuth login and OSC 7501
Updated crush
Summary
Crush v0.98.0, released October 8, 2026 by Charm, adds Grok OAuth login and OSC 7501 support, plus MCP toggle and server fixes.
- Tool
- crush
- Category
- Coding agents
- Date
- MCP
- Yes
- Pricing
- Not stated in the sources we cited.
Crush v0.98.0 shipped on October 8, 2026 from the charmbracelet/crush repository. According to the release notes, it adds support for the Program Status Protocol (OSC 7501) and Grok OAuth login, along with a batch of MCP and UI fixes.
Release facts
| Fact | Detail |
|---|---|
| Product | crush |
| Version | v0.98.0 |
| Release date | October 8, 2026 |
| Publisher | charmbracelet (GitHub) |
| License | Not stated in the cited sources; the GitHub API reports no recognized license |
| Where to get it | GitHub release v0.98.0 |
What changed
- OSC 7501 support. The release notes say Crush now supports the Program Status Protocol,
OSC 7501, created by Superlogical for Rex. TUIOS also supports the protocol. - Grok OAuth login. The changelog lists "feat: grok OAuth" under New.
- OAuth models. The notes say models behind OAuth couldn't be used if they weren't in Catwalk; this is listed among the fixes.
- MCP behavior. The changelog lists fixes for toggling MCPs with global and local settings, and for keeping sessions alive when a server doesn't support ping.
- Server-side MCP handling. The changelog adds a deadline to MCP fetch so a hung server won't freeze the UI, backs off MCP starting-state retries, and fixes MCP status not updating in the UI.
- Editor fix. The external editor no longer swallows an empty buffer, per the notes.
Questions
Does this release add a new login option? Yes. The release notes say Crush now supports Grok OAuth login.
Is Crush licensed for open use? Not stated in the cited sources. The repository page says the GitHub API does not report a recognized license.
How can I verify the release artifacts?
The release notes describe downloading checksums.txt and its sigstore bundle, verifying with cosign, then checking artifacts with sha256sum.
Related: see the crush hub, the coding agents category, and the Cline SDK v0.0.93 launch.
Alternatives
| Tool | License | Pricing note |
|---|---|---|
crushThis launchCrush is a terminal-based agentic coding tool from Charm, published as charmbracelet/crush on GitHub. | — | Not stated |
OpenCodeOpen-source coding agent from the anomalyco/opencode repository, MIT-licensed, with a terminal client and a site at opencode.ai. | MIT | The client is MIT-licensed. Model access is separate; this page does not quote a hosted plan. |
AiderApache-2.0 terminal pair programmer. The project describes Aider as AI pair programming in your terminal. | Apache-2.0 | Apache-2.0 software. Model access is separate. |
ClineApache-2.0 coding agent published as an SDK, IDE extension, or CLI assistant in the cline/cline repository. | Apache-2.0 | The repository license is Apache-2.0. Model access is separate. |
GooseApache-2.0 agent from Block. The repository describes Goose as an open-source, extensible AI agent that goes beyond code suggestions. | Apache-2.0 | Apache-2.0 client. Provider access is separate. |
Questions
What is crush?
The GitHub repository describes it as "Glamourous agentic coding for all".
Is crush open source?
Not stated in the cited sources. The GitHub API does not report a recognized license for the repository.
Does crush work with MCP?
The v0.98.0 release notes include fixes for MCP toggling and MCP server handling, indicating MCP support.
Filed on Agent Radar. Claims in this note are limited to the sources above.