goose vs cline: open-source coding agents compared
Updated By Agent Radar4 min read
Short answer
Goose and Cline are both Apache-2.0 open-source coding agents; compare their documented surfaces, license and sources as of 2026-10-14.
Top pick: Goose. Goose is described in its repository as an open source, extensible AI agent that goes beyond code suggestions: install, execute, edit and test with any LLM.
Goose and Cline are both Apache-2.0 licensed coding agents, according to their GitHub repositories checked on 2026-10-14. The main documented difference is framing: Goose describes itself as an extensible agent that works with any LLM, while Cline describes itself as an autonomous coding agent offered as an SDK, IDE extension, or CLI assistant.
Quick comparison
| Tool | Best fit (from sources) | License | Pricing as stated | Primary source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Goose | An extensible AI agent that goes beyond code suggestions: install, execute, edit and test with any LLM | Apache-2.0 | not stated | aaif-goose/goose |
| Cline | An autonomous coding agent used as an SDK, IDE extension, or CLI assistant | Apache-2.0 | not stated | cline/cline |
The row order is editorial. It is not a ranking of quality, and neither tool is declared a winner here.
How the options differ
Documented surfaces
Cline's repository description names three ways to use it: as an SDK, as an IDE extension, or as a CLI assistant. That is the clearest statement of delivery surface in the cited sources for either tool.
Goose's repository description does not list delivery surfaces in the same way. It calls Goose an open source, extensible AI agent that can install, execute, edit and test. Whether Goose ships as a CLI, a desktop app or an editor integration is not stated in the cited sources. The homepage listed on the repository may cover it, but it was not read for this page.
Model support
Goose's repository description says it works "with any LLM". That is a broad claim from the project's own description, and we have not verified which providers or models work in practice.
The Cline excerpt does not say anything about which models or providers it supports. Model support for Cline is not stated in the cited sources.
Scope and extensibility
Goose is described as "extensible", and its repository topics are acp, ai, ai-agents and mcp. Those topics suggest an interest in agent protocols and tool integration. Topics are labels chosen by maintainers, so they are not a feature list.
Cline's description centers on autonomy and on packaging as an SDK, IDE extension or CLI. The cited excerpt does not list tool-integration protocols for Cline.
License and hosting
Both repositories report Apache-2.0 through the GitHub API. A repository license covers the source code. It does not tell you what any hosted inference or model API costs, and neither source states pricing.
Project history and homepages
Cline's repository was created on 2024-07-06 and Goose's on 2024-08-23, per the repository metadata. Creation dates say nothing about maturity, release cadence or adoption.
Each repository lists a homepage. Those are the places to look for install instructions and supported environments.
How we compared
We read the GitHub repository metadata for aaif-goose/goose and cline/cline. That meant the repository description, the license reported by the GitHub API, the listed homepage, the creation date and, for Goose, the topics. The check date was 2026-10-14.
We did not install or run either tool. We did not benchmark them, compare output quality, or test model compatibility. We did not read the homepages or full READMEs, so anything not in the repository metadata is treated as not stated.
Limitations
The cited sources do not state pricing, supported models, supported editors, platform availability, security behavior or release cadence for either tool. They also do not give usage numbers, star counts or performance data, so this page makes no claims on those points.
The Goose source lists topics and the Cline source does not, so the two descriptions are not perfectly parallel. Self-descriptions in repositories are marketing-adjacent, and they should be confirmed against each project's documentation before a decision.
For more, see the Goose hub, the Cline hub and the coding agents category. A related read is Qwen Code alternative free: 4 open-source coding agents. Recent releases are covered in Goose 1.54.0 and Cline SDK v0.0.93.
The tools
In rank orderGoose is described in its repository as an open source, extensible AI agent that goes beyond code suggestions: install, execute, edit and test with any LLM.
Pros
- Repository description says it works with any LLM
- Apache-2.0 license reported by the GitHub API
- Repository topics include acp and mcp
Cons
- Delivery surfaces (CLI, desktop, editor) not stated in the cited sources
- Pricing not stated in the cited sources
Cline is described in its repository as an autonomous coding agent available as an SDK, IDE extension, or CLI assistant.
Pros
- Three named surfaces: SDK, IDE extension and CLI assistant
- Apache-2.0 license reported by the GitHub API
Cons
- Model support not stated in the cited sources
- Pricing not stated in the cited sources
Questions
Is goose or cline open source?
Both repositories report the Apache-2.0 license through the GitHub API. That covers the source code and does not state anything about hosted inference costs.
What is the difference between goose and cline?
Goose is described as an open source, extensible AI agent that works with any LLM. Cline is described as an autonomous coding agent offered as an SDK, IDE extension, or CLI assistant.
Does cline come as an IDE extension and goose as a CLI?
Cline's repository names an IDE extension, an SDK and a CLI assistant. Goose's delivery surfaces are not stated in the cited sources.
Which is cheaper, goose or cline?
Pricing is not stated in the cited sources for either tool. Both are Apache-2.0 licensed, but that does not describe the cost of any model or hosted service.
More guides
Agno vs Google ADK: agent frameworks compared
Agno vs Google ADK compared from repo metadata and docs: Agno runs agents as a service, ADK is a multi-language agent framework.
- Top pick
- Agno
- Read time
- 6 min
- Updated
Agno vs CrewAI: agent frameworks compared
Agno vs CrewAI compared from repo metadata and product sites: Agno's agent service and AgentOS layer versus CrewAI's enterprise build and runtime platform.
- Top pick
- Agno
- Read time
- 5 min
- Updated
Agno vs LangChain: agent frameworks compared
Agno vs LangChain compared from repo metadata and docs: Agno targets running agents as a service, LangChain a model-agnostic agent API.
- Top pick
- Agno
- Read time
- 3 min
- Updated
Agno vs LangGraph: agent frameworks compared
Agno vs LangGraph compared from repo metadata and docs: service layer for agents versus a durable orchestration runtime, checked 2026-10-14.
- Top pick
- Agno
- Read time
- 5 min
- Updated