Skip to content
Agent Radar

MCP servers v1.0.0 publishes seven npm and PyPI packages

Updated Model Context Protocol Servers

Summary

The modelcontextprotocol/servers v1.0.0 release, published October 11, 2026, ships four npm servers at 1.0.0 and three PyPI servers at 2026.10.10.

Category
MCP servers
Date
MCP
Yes
Pricing
Not stated in the sources we cited.

The modelcontextprotocol/servers repository published release v1.0.0 on October 11, 2026, according to its GitHub release. The release publishes seven Model Context Protocol server packages: four on npm at version 1.0.0 and three on PyPI at version 2026.10.10. The release notes describe the work as a release audit for the SDK 1.x release branch.

Release facts

FactDetail
Productmodelcontextprotocol/servers (repository description: "Model Context Protocol Servers")
Releasev1.0.0 (tag v1.0.0)
Release dateOctober 11, 2026
npm packages at 1.0.0@modelcontextprotocol/server-everything, server-filesystem, server-memory, server-sequential-thinking
PyPI packages at 2026.10.10mcp-server-fetch, mcp-server-git, mcp-server-time
LicenseThe GitHub API does not report a recognized license
Where to get itGitHub release v1.0.0, npm and PyPI

What changed

  • Release pipeline. The release notes say the TypeScript servers now use changesets, with publishing triggered by GitHub Releases. Pending changesets were folded into a 1.0.0 CHANGELOG.

  • Filesystem server fixes. The notes list fixes for:

    • paths that differ from what is on disk only in Unicode form
    • paths under an allowed directory that is a UNC share root
    • overwriting existing files in place
    • keeping line endings and indentation in edit_file

    The server now waits for the initial roots before running tool calls, fails visibly when no directories are set, and declares JSON Schema 2020-12 on every tool schema.

  • Roots fixes on the release branch. Three fixes were cherry-picked onto the release branch: roots revocation, roots refresh ordering and a roots refresh barrier.

  • Session handling in the everything server. According to the notes:

    • subscriptions are cleaned up when a session disconnects
    • unknown and duplicate HTTP+SSE sessions now get a response
    • Streamable HTTP returns 404 for unknown sessions, replays per stream and closes sessions on shutdown
    • session resources are scoped to their server
  • Test gates. The everything and filesystem servers gained characterization test suites with a 90% coverage gate for each file. CI now also runs the test suites on Windows runners.

  • Agent rules file. One pull request adds AGENTS.md ("the absolute rules") and deletes CLAUDE.md.

Questions

Which packages does v1.0.0 publish? The release table lists four npm packages at 1.0.0: everything, filesystem, memory and sequential-thinking. It lists three PyPI packages at 2026.10.10: mcp-server-fetch, mcp-server-git and mcp-server-time.

What changed in how the filesystem server handles roots? According to the release notes, the server waits for the initial roots before tool calls and fails visibly when there are no directories. Fixes for roots revocation, refresh ordering and a refresh barrier were also cherry-picked onto the release branch.

What license covers the repository? Not stated in the cited sources. The repository excerpt says the GitHub API does not report a recognized license.

Later releases will be collected on the Model Context Protocol Servers hub in the MCP servers category, where you can compare it with the GitHub MCP server and TinyFish.

Alternatives

Model Context Protocol Servers compared with its alternatives
ToolLicensePricing note
Model Context Protocol ServersThis launchGitHub repository of Model Context Protocol servers, shipped as npm and PyPI packages such as filesystem and git.
—Not stated
GitHub MCP serverGitHub's official MCP server. Version 1.0.0 shipped April 16, 2026 with organization issue fields and an MCP Apps flag.
Open sourceThe server repository is public. GitHub product charges, if any, are your existing GitHub plan.
TinyFishHosted web agent with an MCP server for search, browsing, and extraction, plus an MIT-licensed local proxy.
MITThe proxy repository is MIT. Hosted calls need a TinyFish account or API key. No dollar price is listed here.

Questions

What is Model Context Protocol Servers?

It is the GitHub repository modelcontextprotocol/servers, which describes itself as "Model Context Protocol Servers." Its v1.0.0 release publishes the everything, filesystem, memory and sequential-thinking servers on npm, and the fetch, git and time servers on PyPI.

Is Model Context Protocol Servers open source?

Not stated in the cited sources. The repository excerpt says the GitHub API does not report a recognized license for this repository.

What does MCP give agents?

According to the Model Context Protocol introduction, MCP gives AI applications or agents access to an ecosystem of data sources, tools and apps.

Filed on Agent Radar. Claims in this note are limited to the sources above.