Skip to content

MCP reference servers 2.0 adds modern protocol support and raises the Node floor

Updated Model Context Protocol Servers

Summary

The October 19 release updates seven reference servers, retains legacy-client compatibility and changes Python error and structured-output behavior.

Category
MCP servers
Date
Open source
Yes
License
Apache-2.0 / MIT transition; documentation CC-BY-4.0
MCP
Yes
Pricing
Self-hosted reference implementations. This release does not provide hosted inference or a free managed service.

MCP reference servers v2.0.0 shipped on October 19, 2026. This is a coordinated update to the small collection of example servers maintained by the MCP project, not a launch of every server in the MCP ecosystem.

What changed

The maintainers say the servers now support the modern protocol era while continuing to answer legacy clients. Four npm packages—Everything, Filesystem, Memory and Sequential Thinking—move to 2.0.0. The Python Fetch, Git and Time packages use the version 2026.10.19.

For developers updating an integration, the important changes are at the client boundary:

  • Python servers now return JSON-RPC error -32602 for an unknown tool, rather than an ordinary tool result marked as an error.
  • Python Time tools declare an output schema and return structured content while retaining their text output.
  • Python tool-execution and argument-validation error wording changes. Applications that parse those strings should review their handling.
  • The TypeScript servers require Node 24 or newer. The Filesystem package manifest confirms that minimum. The Python servers require MCP SDK version 2.3 or newer, below version 3.

The Filesystem release also includes changes to revoke access when a roots update leaves no valid root, hold tool calls while a refresh is pending, and apply only the newest refresh answer. These are reported fixes, not an independent security assessment.

Reference code, not a production guarantee

The project README explicitly frames these as educational reference implementations, not production-ready solutions. Teams still need to choose filesystem permissions, isolate workloads where appropriate and test their own threat model. For discovering third-party servers, the README points to the MCP Registry rather than treating this repository as a complete catalog.

License and cost

The release's license notice describes a transition: new code and consenting contributions use Apache-2.0; earlier contributions without relicensing consent retain MIT terms. Non-specification documentation contributions use CC-BY-4.0. It would therefore be misleading to label the entire tree with only one license.

These are self-hosted software examples. Open-source licensing does not include free model inference, compute or managed hosting. No usage-price claim is made here.

See the MCP servers hub and previous 1.0 release.

Alternatives

Model Context Protocol Servers compared with its alternatives
ToolLicensePricing note
Model Context Protocol ServersThis launchGitHub repository of Model Context Protocol servers, shipped as npm and PyPI packages such as filesystem and git.
—Not stated
GitHub MCP serverGitHub's official MCP server. Version 1.0.0 shipped April 16, 2026 with organization issue fields and an MCP Apps flag.
Open sourceThe server repository is public. GitHub product charges, if any, are your existing GitHub plan.
TinyFishHosted web agent with an MCP server for search, browsing, and extraction, plus an MIT-licensed local proxy.
MITThe proxy repository is MIT. Hosted calls need a TinyFish account or API key. No dollar price is listed here.

More from Model Context Protocol Servers

View all
  • MCP servers v1.0.0 publishes seven npm and PyPI packages

    Model Context Protocol ServersThe modelcontextprotocol/servers v1.0.0 release, published October 11, 2026, ships four npm servers at 1.0.0 and three PyPI servers at 2026.10.10.

Questions

What is Model Context Protocol Servers?

It is the GitHub repository modelcontextprotocol/servers, which describes itself as "Model Context Protocol Servers." Its v1.0.0 release publishes the everything, filesystem, memory and sequential-thinking servers on npm, and the fetch, git and time servers on PyPI.

Is Model Context Protocol Servers open source?

Not stated in the cited sources. The repository excerpt says the GitHub API does not report a recognized license for this repository.

What does MCP give agents?

According to the Model Context Protocol introduction, MCP gives AI applications or agents access to an ecosystem of data sources, tools and apps.

Filed on Agent Radar. Claims in this note are limited to the sources above.