Skip to content
Agent Radar

OpenCode v1.19.0 adds a path to OpenCode 2

Updated OpenCode

Summary

OpenCode v1.19.0, published October 11, 2026, adds an opencode upgrade --major command to reach OpenCode 2 and stops installing updates automatically.

Date
Open source
Yes
License
MIT
Pricing
Not stated in the sources we cited.

OpenCode v1.19.0 was published on October 11, 2026 in the anomalyco/opencode GitHub repository. According to the release notes, it adds a command to upgrade to OpenCode 2 and changes how updates are installed.

Release facts

FactDetail
ProductOpenCode, an open source coding agent
Versionv1.19.0
Release dateOctober 11, 2026
LicenseMIT, as reported by the GitHub API for the repository
Where to get itGitHub release v1.19.0; product site at opencode.ai

What changed

  • Upgrade path to OpenCode 2: the release notes say to run opencode upgrade --major to upgrade to OpenCode 2.
  • Updates are no longer automatic: the notes say to use /update to install OpenCode updates or upgrade to OpenCode 2, and that updates are no longer installed automatically.
  • OpenAI service tier: the OpenAI ultrafast service tier is now allowed.
  • PTY validation: PTY connection origins and tickets are validated before checking whether a PTY exists.
  • Docs and stats: one community contributor's changes touch the Zen docs and attribute exo usage to an unknown provider in stats.

Questions

How do I move to OpenCode 2 from this release? The release notes list opencode upgrade --major and the /update command as the ways to upgrade to OpenCode 2.

Will OpenCode still update itself? According to the release notes, no. Updates are no longer installed automatically, so you install them with /update.

Is the project open source? The repository page reports an MIT license through the GitHub API, and the product site describes OpenCode as an open source agent.

For more, see the OpenCode tool hub, the coding agents category, and the earlier OpenCode 2.0 shared service launch.

Alternatives

OpenCode compared with its alternatives
ToolLicensePricing note
OpenCodeThis launchOpen-source coding agent from the anomalyco/opencode repository, MIT-licensed, with a terminal client and a site at opencode.ai.
MITThe client is MIT-licensed. Model access is separate; this page does not quote a hosted plan.
ClineApache-2.0 coding agent published as an SDK, IDE extension, or CLI assistant in the cline/cline repository.
Apache-2.0The repository license is Apache-2.0. Model access is separate.
AiderApache-2.0 terminal pair programmer. The project describes Aider as AI pair programming in your terminal.
Apache-2.0Apache-2.0 software. Model access is separate.
GooseApache-2.0 agent from Block. The repository describes Goose as an open-source, extensible AI agent that goes beyond code suggestions.
Apache-2.0Apache-2.0 client. Provider access is separate.
Qwen CodeAn open-source AI coding agent that lives in your terminal to turn ideas into code.
Apache-2.0Not stated

More from OpenCode

View all
  • OpenCode 2.0 shared service

    OpenCodeThe New Stack reported that OpenCode 2.0 puts its terminal, desktop, and web apps on one shared service.

Questions

What is OpenCode?

OpenCode is an open-source coding agent. The GitHub repository anomalyco/opencode is MIT-licensed and describes the project as the open source coding agent. The website is opencode.ai.

What are OpenCode alternatives?

Cline, Aider, Goose, and Enter Code are the alternatives filed on this site. Cline and Aider are Apache-2.0. Goose is Apache-2.0. Enter Code's launch post describes an open-source Go SDK.

Is OpenCode free?

The software license is MIT, so the client itself has no license fee. You still need a model provider. This page does not quote a subscription price.

Filed on Agent Radar. Claims in this note are limited to the sources above.